eclipse

Photo by Abed Ismail

I had an

epiphany

today.

Emerson and I were talking about

the next solar eclipse being

20 years from

now.

“I’ll be 26!!”

she said.

“How old will I be?”

I asked her.

“44? No, 54?!”

“Yep; that’s close to Grammy’s age.”

“She’ll be like 70-something!?”

And I

began to say

“That’s about Gigi’s age… well,

Gigi is actually 80-someth—“

and my heart

stuttered.

Quick math showed me 100-something

and I crumpled.

My grandma will most likely

be gone when Emerson is 26.

This sent me

sad places, obviously,

but also, I thought of

the incredible

Fortitude

it takes

to grow old.

My grandma holds her

great-granddaughter and knows

she won’t see her have children.

She may not see her graduate high school.

I acknowledge that

few are as incredible as my grandma

(I firmly believe none are).

Some

dig their heels

in the land of youth,

buying and clawing their way

to evade age.

But time comes for all.

So far,

one cannot purchase literal years.

All are aware our time on this planet

is finite.

Growing old is a

Privilege,

but

the strength it takes to still show up

when facing time’s unalterable truth

stole my very breath.

Courage

and grace

and calm patience

and gratitude…

It’s remarkable.

If you are able,

squeeze your grandma a little

tighter and a little

longer.

Leave a comment